top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAxam Maumoon

05/10/18—Four Seasons Vovo

This was my first gig after launching this site, and man it was a whole lotta fun.


Four Seasons, as a brand, is well known for its overwhelming hospitality towards the guests, and it was such an honour to have been given nigh the same treatment as an artist as well. I've included a few photos and even a short video clip so that you could see exactly how the event went.



Upon arriving via seaplane

The best part about my arrival was the instant welcome and designation to the garden villa room. Before I was shown to the room, I admired the gorgeous view that not enough of us really take the time to appreciate, the beautiful architecture and the ingenious design of the jetty. This wasn't my first time on the island, no, but even though structurally everything was the same as nearly six years ago, the upkeep and care made the entire resort feel completely brand new.



A little more about the jetty

My room? Oh yes

Basically, the best about my stay was undoubtedly the room they'd assigned to me. Looking very unassuming with a simple double-door entrance, the villa really did surprise me.



Hello? Is that a hammock on the left?

Yes, it really was a hammock, although the recent heavy rainfall made it quite uncomfortable before long. It was a huge, couple room, with a gorgeous pool and even more homely, serene interior. Check out the photos below. Since it was lunch time, my focal point arranged a hearty meal of a medium rare beef patty burger that was not only filling, but nearly the best beef I've had in months!



Did I tell you there was a pool?

Gosh I hate not having brought my fiancé with me

A few hours later, a buggy picked me up and took me to the jetty. Why?

The party, a private event, was to be at the private property of Four Seasons on another island about eight to ten minutes away. I immediately felt excited. Private parties are usually just crazy fun!


Sound check went smoothly, and so the DJ Jailam and I spent the free time before the event going through the playlist and adding more tracks to it. It was Jailam's first time in a duo performance with a saxophonist and he was only slightly worried, but I talked him through it. The most important part was chemistry, and from my experience, if you pay attention to each other during the first few tracks, things will fall into place.


At 7 pm Malé time, he kicked off the party with his music so I waited until it was the right time for me to slot in. The event planner for the night insisted I come in during dinner time and then build the hype up, and so I bided my time back in the staff quarters.


However, like most events similar to this one, the schedule went awry and some of the planning began to unravel. Regardless, the staff showed surprisingly high perseverance and catered to all the needs of the guests, however far those requirements were from the initial plan. It also meant that my performance was to be slightly delayed as well, but having been in similar situations, I knew it was nobody's fault and that things would always work out in time. And it did.


Two hours after the party started, it was my turn to jump in. The next hour was crazy! Quiet at first, since nobody had the energy to dance just yet, but working together with Jailam quite well we managed to bring up the excitement and the energy beautifully. The clip below is just a snippet of the event, and duuuude it was so much fun!


The organisation was smooth enough to manage to get me in a boat back to Landaa Giraavaru where I had my accommodations. I am completely bushed, the weather went from bad to worse, but tonight I would sleep knowing it was a day well spent and memories fondly made. Hoping the management here would consider keeping me here as a regular performer alongside Jailam. What do you think?


Stay tuned, more videos would be uploaded into the archive tab soon!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Making my online portfolio

So, this looks gorgeous already. Wix has been a go-to website designer for me given how it's so easy to use and free, so, since I had to buck up and start work on my personal marketing or get lost int

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page